Monday, August 1, 2011
My Bullshit HOA
Home Owners Associations, what a great idea. Having some monthly dues paid by the people throughout the neighborhood so our communities look great. An idea that seems wonderful in theory. I've made a rough guesstimate that my neighborhood has roughly 200 - 300 homes. At $50 dollars a month, that equals out to roughly 15K a month in HOA fees. Well take 5k out a month for homes that are unoccupied. My community consists of 3 pools that they take care of and a few 10 X 100 strips of landscaping that gets taken care of by them. Well give them the benefit of the doubt and say they pay $100 a month for each pool. OK, there's $300 a month keeping the pools clean. We'll say another $500 a month in landscaping that they take care of and i think that's being very liberal on landscaping. That equals out to a total of less than $1000 a month. So, they're utilizing 1/10 of the money that is paid in HOA fees a month. I'd personally like to know where the fuck all the money goes. HOA's are like corporations. Are the counsel members cashing in on these "POST's." Id bet my left foot that they are cashing in on being members of the board. It's mostly old, fat men on the board and try running against them and you're an outcast in the community. These HOA's are like a don't ask, don't tell. No one wants to know the truth and no one wants to question the board. Try having a weed pop up in your yard and you have an instant letter in your box saying your going to be fined if its not cleaned up. HOA's are bullshit. Great idea in theory if they worked for the community and not the other way around. It seems like all my hard earned money goes into fattening up the pockets of these bullshit board members. Plain and simple, i fucking hate HOA's!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)